Tonkichi

This being my first visit to Tonkichi, I had to try their signature Tonkotsu. After all, there was a sign in the restaurant that read Tonkichi is Tonkotsu; Tonkotsu is Tonkichi. ‘Nuff said.

I ordered the hire katsu (the leaner pork cut) set which came with rice, miso soup, shredded cabbage (with a nice salad dressing accented with yuzu), watermelon and tea.

I confess I am not the biggest tonkotsu fan because I find fried breaded meat without gravy quite dry and boring. Even the tonkotsu at the famed Maisen in Tokyo did not wow me, so pardon if this review doesn’t sound too enthusiastic. As tonkotsus go, I think this was pretty good – tender and not too oily.

Can someone teach me how to grind sesame seeds though? The sesame seeds that were intended to accompany the tonkotsu dipping sauce came in a bowl with a pestle. But try as I might, the seeds remained pretty much intact despite my efforts at pounding, stirring, grating. In any case, this wasn’t a huge issue because the tonkotsu was good enough to eat on its own. In fact, I found the tonkotsu sauce a little too strong for the delicate porky taste.

Epilogue: Look what I found – A website providing guidance on grinding toasted sesame seeds: www.kadoya.com/english/pleasure/cooking_002.html.

This will definitely come in handy the next round I have tonkotsu!

Tonkichi
www.pokkafood.com.sg/tonkichi
4th level, Isetan Scotts
350 Orchard Road, Shaw House
Singapore 038985
Open 11am- 10pm
Other branches: Ngee Ann City, Suntec City, Orchard Central, Tampines Mall

Leave a Reply

